Wednesday, January 20, 2016

2016 Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is named after John Newbery, a book publisher and seller who lived from 1713-1767 (54 years) in London. He is known as “The Father of Children’s Literature” because he was one the first person to publish children’s literature.

The Newbery Medal is awarded every year by the Association for Library Service to Children at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits. The medal is awarded to the author of the best gift to children’s literature in America.
A timeline to put John Newbery and the award into perspective.

This year, the Newbery Medal was awarded to Last Stop on Market Street written by Matt De La Pena and illustrated by Christian Robinson.

Winner of the 2016 Newbery Medal

A 2016 Caldecott Honor Book

A 2016 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015

A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2015

Meet the author and illustrator in this YouTube video.

Students are coming up with many responses as to why they think the 2016 Newbery Medal Selection Committee selected Last Stop on Market Street for this prestigious award.

Many Memorial staff members are part of a children’s book discussion group. We too talked about the many wonderful aspects of Last Stop on Market Street and why we thought it was selected as the winner of the Newbery medal.

CJ’s journey with his Nana is not just a simple bus ride; it is a multi-sensory experience through which he discovers that beautiful music, nature and people surround him.  CJ’s questions are familiar, and Nana answers him with gentle wisdom.  Right up until their arrival at the last stop on Market Street, Nana guides CJ to become “a better witness for what’s beautiful.”

“Read it aloud to someone. The use of language to elicit questions, to spark imagination and to make us laugh is at its best when spoken,” said Newbery Medal Committee Chair Ernie J. Cox.


Post a Comment